Education

Autobus Viamonde
On y va!
Dessin enfants
étudiants secondairesLa boîte à soleil

Child Services

Parents of newborns and young preschoolers can find child care services in licensed child care centres or home care.

In Niagara, the child care co-op La Boîte à soleil – Garderie francophone offers comprehensive programs across Niagara Region. The non-profit child care centre provides a full range of services, from infant to preschool care and before and after school programs. The centres are located in French language schools of both the Catholic and secular board. The organization serves the local Francophone families of  St. Catharines, Niagara Falls, Welland and Port Colborne.

You can also find bilingual On y va! centres, which offer free drop-in programs for caregivers and children together. Montessori schools and before-and-after school care are additional alternatives to provide your young ones with the best education and care.

For more information on options and subsidies, see this Government of Ontario page.

Parents are encouraged to read about the Ministry of Education and the Association francophone à l’éducation des services à l’enfance de l’Ontario.

Elementary and Secondary Education

All children in Ontario are required to attend school until the age of 18 or until they have graduated from a secondary school. Well established Francophone school systems provide free top quality primary and secondary eduction.

French Language Education

French Language schools offer a rich and diversified cultural experience in a welcoming and inclusive environment.

In French language schools of the MonAvenir Catholic School Board and Viamonde French School Board, French is taught as a first language and students learn and live in a Francophone environment.

To attend a French language school, children are admissible if their native language is French, if their elementary education was in French or their parent received education in a French-language school in Canada. For more information, see: Admission to French-language schools.

For more information, visit French-language education in Ontario.

French Immersion Programs

Many schools in Niagara offer French Immersion programs where students learn French as a second language and serves as the language of instruction for some courses. School life and extracurricular activities take place in English.

For a better understanding of the differences, download the document La différence entre L’ÉDUCATION EN LANGUE FRANÇAISE et le programme « FRENCH IMMERSION » (pdf – 346 KB)

Post Secondary Education

Students can continue their post secondary education at Brock University or Niagara College. Both offer strong academic programs, cutting-edge research, and world-class facilities.

French as a second language teacher education (BEd) is offered at Brock University.

The French language college, Collège Boréal offers a wide range of programs through distance learning. In Welland, the Access Centre is located at Niagara College and another is located in Hamilton. Students can enroll to study on campus in either Toronto or Sudbury.

It's a place where our children can grow and thrive. - Thomas

Adult Learning

L’ABC Communautaire offers French, Math and computer courses for free to francophones. They can also help them obtain a high school equivalency diploma (GED). The education centre may provide financial assistance for travel expenses and child care to their francophone students.

French teachers are in demand!

Qualified teachers are in demand in French schools! The resources of Ontario College of Teachers could help you in your job search.

Éducation

Autobus Viamonde
On y va!
Dessin enfants
étudiants secondairesLa boîte à soleil

Services de garde d’enfants

Les parents de nouveau-nés et d’enfants d’âge préscolaire peuvent trouver des services de garde d’enfants dans une garderie agréée ou chez un fournisseur de garde en milieu familial.

Dans la région, la coopérative La Boîte à soleil – Garderie francophone offre une gamme complète de services dans toute la région du Niagara. La garderie offre des services de garde, de poupons à préscolaires et des programmes avant et après l’école. Les garderies sont situées dans des écoles de langue française des deux conseils : laïque et catholique. L’organisme à but non-lucratif dessert les familles francophones de St. Catharines, Niagara Falls, Welland et Port Colborne.

Vous pouvez aussi trouver plusieurs centres bilingues On y va!, qui offrent des programmes gratuits pour jeunes enfants accompagnés de leurs parents ou personne ayant la garde. Les écoles Montessori et les garderies en milieu scolaire constituent d’autres options procurant aux enfants la meilleure éducation et les meilleurs soins.

Pour vous renseigner davantage sur les options et l’aide financière, consultez cette page du Gouvernement de l’Ontario.

Les parents sont également invités à consulter le Ministère de l’Éducation et l’Association francophone à l’éducation des services à l’enfance de l’Ontario.

Éducation élémentaire et secondaire

En Ontario, les élèves sont tenus d’aller à l’école jusqu’à l’âge de 18 ans ou jusqu’à ce qu’ils aient obtenu leur diplôme d’études secondaires. Les systèmes scolaires francophones procurent une éducation élémentaire et secondaire gratuite de qualité supérieure.

L’éducation en langue française

Les écoles de langue française offrent une vie culturelle riche et diversifiée dans un environnement accueillant et inclusif.

Dans les écoles de langue française du Conseil scolaire catholique MonAvenir et du Conseil scolaire laïque Viamonde, l’enseignement, la vie scolaire et les activités parascolaires se déroulent dans un environnement francophone.

Un enfant est admissible aux écoles de langue française si sa langue maternelle est le français, s’il a reçu son instruction au primaire en français ou si le parent a reçu son instruction dans une institution de langue française au Canada. Pour plus de détails consultez L’admission aux écoles de langue française.

Pour vous informez davantage, visitez Éducation en langue française en Ontario.

Les programmes « French Immersion »

Dans les écoles de langue anglaise des conseils scolaires, les élèves étudient le français langue seconde et d’autres matières en français. La vie scolaire et activités parascolaires se déroulent en anglais.

Pour comprendre La différence entre L’ÉDUCATION EN LANGUE FRANÇAISE et le programme « FRENCH IMMERSION » (pdf – 346 KB), téléchargez le document.

Éducation postsecondaire

Les études postsecondaires peuvent se faire à l’Université Brock ou à Niagara College. Ces établissements proposent tous deux de solides programmes d’études (en anglais), de la recherche de pointe et des installations de classe mondiale.

La formation à l’enseignement du français langue seconde (B. Éd.) est offerte à l’Université Brock.

Le collège de langue française, Collège Boréal offre un large éventail de programmes à distance. Son centre d’accès est situé au Niagara College à Welland et un autre est situé à Hamilton. Les études peuvent se faire aux campus de Toronto ou de Sudbury.

C’est un endroit où mes enfants peuvent grandir et s’épanouir. - Thomas

Formation pour adultes

L’ABC Communautaire offre gratuitement, des cours de français, de mathématiques et d’informatique aux francophones ainsi que des cours préparatoires aux tests du diplôme d’équivalence d’études secondaires (GED). Le centre d’éducation offre la possibilité d’aide financière pour le déplacement et le gardiennage à ses apprenants francophones.

Manque d’enseignants qualifiés francophones

Les enseignants et enseignantes qualifiés sont en demande dans les écoles de langue française! Les ressources de l’Ordre des enseignantes et enseignants de l’Ontario peuvent vous aider dans votre recherche d’emploi.